37 Weeks


20130101-172719.jpg

I’m off work for New Year’s so my hair in a top-knot was the best I could muster.  I managed to get make-up and clothes on.  2 outta 3 aint too bad.
How far along? 37 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: +32  lbs
Maternity clothes? Yup. And the shirt that I’m currently wearing doesn’t cover my belly.  So, there’s that.
Stretch marks? Yeabsolutely.
Sleep: Some days are better than others.
Best moment this week: Making it to 2013 still pregnant!  Haha!  I got a beautiful charm for a January birthday baby and didn’t want to have to return it for a December birthstone.  I also didn’t want to be in the hospital over the holidays.
Worst moment this week: Hurting.  Nearly all the time.  But I guess that’s to be expected at 37 weeks pregnant.  Also, Adrianna told me twice that I was fat this week.  One time, she tapped my chin and said, “Hmmm.  Getting kinda chubby, Momma.”  Thanks, brat.
Movement: All the time but they are getting slower and bigger.  Less dance parties, more stretching.
Food cravings/aversions: No aversions this week.  But I get so full so quickly because of the fact that my stomach is competing for space with my lungs.  I crave ice chips nearly constantly and big props to my husband for not complaining one time about my constant chomping.  Most of the time I do it without even realizing it . . .
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: A burst of real contractions last week and several Braxton Hicks throughout the week this week.  My OB will check me again on Thursday.  I doubt I will have made any changes since last week but we will see!
Belly Button in or out? In but getting more shallow.
What I miss: Energy. And wine; I’m packing a bottle of wine in our hospital bag.
What I am thankful for: That this baby is healthy.  That I made it to full-term with essentially no complications.  That the nursery is done.  That we got the second car seat base ordered this weekend.  That I’m not on-call for work anymore until after I come back from maternity leave!
What I am looking forward to: Being able to breathe.  Being able to eat without chasing it with Tums.  Seeing our beautiful baby boy.
Milestones: Full term today!!
Symptoms: This one is pretty much moot at this point.  The biggest “symptom” that I have is a head sitting on my cervix.
Technical baby news: Although you’re probably jumping for joy now that you’re full-term, your baby is quietly continuing his routine of wiggles and weight gain. His organ systems are all fully developed, and everything is working hard to prepare him for the world. In fact, he’s breathing and swallowing quite a bit now, and the level of amniotic fluid in your uterus is decreasing. Your baby is around 6 ½ pounds and a 37 week ultrasound would show that he’s just shy of 20 inches from head to heel, which may be as long as he’s going to get before birth. Your baby spends much of his time asleep, but he has ironed out a pattern of rest and activity by week 37. He will move into different phases of sleep through the day: he’s in “quiet sleep” for about 40% of the time, “active sleep” (where he makes some random movements) for about 42% of the time and is active for the rest of the time (unfortunately, this stage may kick in when you’re trying to fall asleep). Your baby will also experience REM sleep now, which is when dreaming takes place.

20121126-114405.jpg

Leave a Reply

