38 Weeks


20130108-134646.jpg

Early morning photobomb courtesy of Adrianna.
Ponytail courtesy of middle-of-the-night contractions.
 
How far along? 38 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 32 lbs.  Which is really strange because according to my OB’s scale, from week 36-37, I gained 6 lbs.  I was freaking the freak out just a little bit.  At my appointment yesterday, I was down 2 lbs.  It seems that either her scale isn’t working or it’s just trying to fuck with me.
Maternity clothes? Yup.
Stretch marks? Yeabsolutely.
Sleep: Mostly sucky with a few naps thrown in.  This is just part of getting ready for this baby I suppose.
Best moment this week: Finally having a sense of accomplishment with most things baby.  We got the most of the big stuff off of our checklist, his nursery is done, the bag is packed and in the car, we got the car seat base, the Boppy is in the hizzy, freezer meals have been made and my FMLA paperwork was turned in at work.  All we need now is this baby to make his grand debut!
Worst moment this week: Having sick kiddos all weekend. It breaks my momma heart when they don’t feel good.  And then, on Monday night realizing that they had lovingly passed their germs to me.  I’m honestly more sad for me than I was for them.  They aren’t the ones that could go into labor at any moment over the next 3 weeks.  Brats.
Movement: Still there but getting noticeably slower.  Homeboy is rapidly running out of room and is getting pissed about it.  He will judo-chop anybody that pushes on him.
Food cravings/aversions: Ice chips, like whoa.
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Definitely getting closer to meeting our newest little bundle.  I went to the OB yesterday and was dilated to 2cm and 50% effaced.  I was 1cm on Thursday when she checked me, so all of the contractions I had Monday night did a little bit of good!  My OB also stripped my membranes which caused me to have contractions every 4-8 minutes last night for almost 2 hours.  And then?  And then they stopped.  I’ve also started to lose my mucus plug (blech) which I know can mean absolutely nothing but I will take progress in any form!  We also started talking about an induction, if he goes past his due date.  My OB is ah-mazing and will induce after 39 weeks for maternity comfort so, if I’m still pregnant next week, and I want to, we will schedule an induction.  BUT.  I had Pitocin with Adrianna and it sucked something hardcore.  She didn’t tolerate it well and it’s just a nasty little drug.  Unfortunately, the only ways to induce labor are to break water and start Pitocin.  So, if I go in for an induction, they break my water and I don’t progress, they will have to start Pitocin.  After we talked about all of that, we are just going to wait and see what happens over the next couple of weeks.
Belly Button in or out? In but getting flatter by the day.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.  And being able to breathe.  And being able to eat more than a few bites before I get so full I feel like I might vomit.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That this baby is healthy.  That almost everything is done and ready for this child.
What I am looking forward to: Meeting our baby!
Milestones: Pretty much the next milestone we hit will be labor . . .
Symptoms: The child that is currently residing in my uterus.
Technical baby news: At over 6 ½ pounds and around 20 inches, your baby is in excellent form for the outside world. And you may be greeting him earlier than you expect, since it’s surprisingly common for a baby to come up to two weeks before your due date. On the other hand, a two-week-late baby is not out of the ordinary, either. In any case, your baby is plump and active, and that could translate into bigger and stronger movements.Your placenta has begun to disintegrate, and this means it’s not transferring nutrients as quickly, but your baby is still getting all the oxygen and nourishment he needs to thrive. Just a couple of months ago, your little one was relying entirely on your body to fight infections, but now his immune system is beginning to develop (it will continue to develop at an impressive pace after birth, especially if you breastfeed). Hormonal responses are also in full swing by week 38 of pregnancy, and some experts believe that your baby reacts to his tight surroundings by producing hormones that help to trigger the first real contractions of labor.

20121126-114348.jpg

Leave a Reply

