Goals for 2013

Even though we are 11 days into 2013 and I’m way behind the calendar, I decided to go ahead and write down some of my goals for 2013.  I don’t like to call them resolutions because I feel too pressured to be perfect.  One of the things on my list is to lose weight (duh) but I am not going to feel bad if I eat an Oatmeal Cream Pie every now and then because I love those little bastards and if I start to be too strict with myself and deny myself every indulgence, I will go cray-cray.

  • Lose up to 50 pounds.  This one is really more about being healthy but “Get healthy” isn’t a quantifiable goal.  I could eat a carrot and “be healthy” for that moment but I want to “be healthy” on a more consistent basis.  Yes 50 is a big number but, hey.  I’m about to have a baby and have gained close to 35 pounds so most of that will just be getting me back to where I was pre-baby.  The extra 15 can stand to go buh-bye as well.
  • Run a 10K by my 30th birthday (which is July 14th)(which gives you 6 months and 3 days to buy me a gift).  I got pretty decent at running 5Ks last year but feel like I need to challenge myself a little more.  And I’ve heard that losing weight is hard after turning 30 so I want to give Mother Nature a roundhouse kick to the face regarding the aging process.
  • Register and run a 5K every other month.  I’m going to sign up for one on St. Patty’s Day and go from there.  I’m not necessarily limiting myself to one every other month but I want to do one at least that often.
  • Breastfeed Baby Boy at least 1 year.  If it’s at all possible, I don’t want to supplement with formula at all.  Brock and Adrianna have issues with allergies and if I can avoid any of those issues with this baby, I’m going to do everything I can to try.  And?  Breastfeeding is free and I’m cheap!  Win-win!
  • Pay off the rest of our credit cards (we are getting closer every month!  Woot woot!) and both of our vehicles.

I’m sure there are a few other things that I’ve missed but those are the big ones for 2013.  Do you make yearly resolutions/goals?  Tell me all about it!  I’m nosy and need something to keep my mind off of my due date that is looming!

Leave a Reply

