44 Days Later

So, this blog? I love it but I’ve been completely neglecting it lately. Mostly because of this guy:

20130301-160615.jpg

So many people told us that going from 2 to 3 kids was so much easier than going from 1 to 2. And, for the most part, they were right. However, our youngest child likes to sleep the same amount as his father. Which isn’t very much at all. With the exception of the night before last, (when he gave me the very precious gift of sleeping from 10-3, waking up to eat, then sleeping again from 3:30-6. It was glorious.) we still aren’t sleeping very much and he and I have taken up (probably permanent) residence on the couch. He has started taking moderate naps in his swing which seems like a huge step because it allows me to take an occasional shower or do a load of laundry.

But for the most part? Having a newborn is hard work, man. One reason I think it seems so much harder this time is because we were more or less out of the swing of baby stuff. Everybody in our house was feeding themselves, we were all potty-trained, etc. So it was like we were starting from scratch but also had a 3- and 5-year old in the house that still need tons of attention.

So, pity party aside, I feel incredibly lucky. Tired beyond words but lucky.  We have 3 healthy, mostly happy children (two of which aren’t home right now and the little guy is sleeping so I feel much more romantic about all of them in this moment). Greg has been phenomenal with the big kids because I’m basically at the mercy of Ryker and his schedule right now. And since somebody still has to feed and bathe Brock and Adrianna, Greg has pretty much taken over all of the bedtime routine stuff because Ryker likes to cluster feed anywhere from 6-9pm and sometimes it’s pretty much the entire 3 hour block. Our parents have helped out so much with anything and everything that we have needed; even if it’s to come over and hold the baby so I can take a nap.

So, that’s pretty much what we’ve been up to around here! Nursing, pooping, quasi-sleeping and just adjusting to our new life as a family of 5! I’m also hoping to get a more predictable routine down so I can start blogging more frequently because I have tons of things to talk about (for starters, I took Brock to kindergarten registration today. Double you. Tee. Eff.). Also? My maternity leave is half over as of this week (sad panda) so I would like to get a few things done around here before I get back in the saddle.

And?  I miss you guys.  And I miss over-sharing every mundane detail of my life.  And I know you guys miss reading all about those mundane details. Ha!

Leave a Reply

